Skinny Pancakes

Breakfast to me is like water to a fish – can’t start my day without it. There have been countless mornings when I have awakened craving pancakes. Wishing that upon dragging myself to the kitchen, a stack of healthy pancakes would just magically appear on my plate, waiting to be gobbled down.

No such luck.

And that is why I went on an endless pursuit to find a recipe to whip up the quickest, heathiest, yummiest pancakes. While some pancake recipes had me standing over the stove with my tummy rumbling an hour later, this one is so quick you’ll have pancakes on the table before your stomach has time to process that you’re awake.

This is also my go to recipe when I need an energy boost early in the day if we have planned a hike or something energy consuming for later.

What you’ll need

Note : Ingredients yields pancakes for consumption of one person, just double the ingredients to cater to more people

  • 1 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • a sprinkle of cinnamon (1/4 tsp if you need the exact measurement)
  • (optional : a few drops of vanilla essence if you like vanilla flavored pancakes)
  • (optional : 1/2 scoop of raw cacao powder if you prefer chocolate flavored pancakes)
  • Preferably a non stick pan

What to do next?

If you have a blender, throw everything into the blender and blend til pancake mixture forms.

If you do not have a blender, don’t sweat, just mix the ingredients together well using a fork or wooden spoon. It should form a thick mixture and you might form arm muscles in the process 🙂

Heat up a non stick pan and grease it. I use some coconut oil to grease my pan but you can use vegetable oil or butter. If you’re not using a non stick pan you might want to grease a little more so the pancakes flip.

Once you get the mix, it is completely up to you to determine what size you would like to have your pancakes. I prefer having small circles which are easier to flip so I form small pancake pools when pouring the mixture onto my hot non stick pan. Give it slightly less than a minute on each side before you flip it over and walla! You have your pancakes.

pancake-3

I like to stack mine up tall! I’ve tried eating these just by themselves and they taste sweet enough from the banana but I usually combine my pancakes with a mixed berry topping that I make from scratch quite easily.

Make me some Topping

All you need is are mixed berries and you can use any variety of berries. You can also decide between frozen or fresh berries, the outcome is similar. You will also need a bit of honey and some cinnamon powder if you like some spice.

How to Top em Up

If you can multitask, while waiting to flip your pancakes, slide some berries into a small pot and add in a tiny bit of water (don’t drown the berries), no water is perfectly fine as well if you prefer a thicker topping but I always add in just a little bit of water.

Simmer the berries, a sprinkle of cinnamon powder and a squeeze of honey to your own preference and taste under low heat as you continue with your pancakes.

Once the berries are soft, turn off the heat and let it sit for a bit before you top these on your pancakes. The acidity from the berries and sweetness from the honey will compliment the pancakes well.

pancake-5

Enjoy! And trust me, once you whip this up in your kitchen a few times, you will be doing them in your sleep without having to refer to any recipe at all.

 

Leave a Reply

