The Kinda Love My Dreams are Made of

dimi_akash-1037

I remember quite vividly the moment I first met my husband. He entered from across the room. Tall, dark and handsome. I could feel the sparks fly from afar almost immediately. His eyes darted across the room and fell, not quite, but close to where I was standing. He was looking at a mutual friend who had invited him to our social event that night.

He walked over and as soon as he started speaking, my hopes came crumbling down. He spoke about himself excessively. His thoughts, I quickly perceived as immature. And maybe back then he was just a little too skinny for my voluptuous figure. Yes. I was shallow. He fell short of the man my dreams were made of. The broad, brooding dream man exuding a natural charm that lived in my dream world. The one who knew exactly what to say when, who had the charisma of George Clooney. We had fun that night but this guy, I would see him no more I figured.

My husband asked me out a couple of weeks later. He obtained my number in a very gentlemanly way and was persistent in asking me to head out for ice cream or for salsa dance lessons although I declined the first few times. His persistence was charming. He kept appearing at the right places at the right times. He was still far from the man in my dreams but he had the kind of grit and persistence that I dreamed about. So I gave in.

He was a romantic from the get go. He wrote me songs. Which he sang while strumming a guitar haphazardly.  Showered me with flowers. He organized adventurous albeit low budget dates that we could both afford. He made me feel safe and tore my walls down. He quickly took the place of my dream man and became my very first boyfriend.

We embarked on a long distance relationship after uni. The circumstances were inevitable, read more about our long distance journey here . But out of it came the kinda love that I could only dream about. An amazingly strong partnership that inspired so many different choices in our lives.

The strength of our love for each other amazes me to this very day. How we have come so far despite our differences and regardless of the challenges. I married the first and only love of my life. I married the only man I felt I could unleash my truest and deepest self to without being judged for a minute. Today we celebrate our very first Valentines Day together as a married couple and look back at the night that brought a girl, with an idea of an ideal man and a man who was persistent enough to go after what he wanted, together.

I am blessed that I did not wait out for the man that lived in my dreams to come along because in it’s place I got the kinda love that my dreams are made of. And at the heart of it all, I got my actual dream man, not the one that I thought I needed.

Happy Valentines Day all!

xx

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. LINDA TZANOS says:

    Awesome!!!! Such romance. Thanks for sharing

    1. Dimi Jani says:

      My pleasure Linda! Thank you!

  2. angelanoelauthor says:

    What beautiful pictures of the two of you, and a lovely story of persistence and the gentle floating (rather than falling) into love you experienced. I’m glad Susie sent me!

    1. Dimi Jani says:

      Welcome! I’m glad she sent you and thank you for taking some time to read our story! ❤

  3. Cheila says:

    What a beautiful story!

  4. susielindau says:

    He sounds like a Keeper! And he writes songs? Wow. You are a beautiful couple. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your love story today. Enjoy meeting the guest at the party and don’t forget to stand up and dance!

    1. Dimi Jani says:

      He is a keeper I got lucky!! Thanks so much for dropping by for a read, I just did a little wiggle there. And happy Valentines Day ❤

  5. estelea says:

    So lovely! You made me laugh out loud with your raw honesty at the begining of the story 🙂 I don’t think Mr RIght really exists anyway, just because being RIght all the time would be sooo boring for us, don’t you think? A loving relationship is something that we are creating and nourishing everyday, we are growing together aren’t we? As long as there is love, fun and trust, the foundations are here! HAppy belated Valentines ❤

    1. Dimi Jani says:

      So very true!! Perfection is overrated, it is all that we create that makes life exciting. I resonate, growing old together and growing as people with each other is all that matters 🙂 It’s funny I can’t seem to remember what my then Mr. Right looks like any longer!! Thank you for dropping by to read Estelea, glad I made you laugh ❤

  6. israelisalad says:

    Hey, Dimi. Susie sent me over. I’m also an immigrant. You’re welcome to come check out my blog full of recipes and tidbits about being an American mother in Israel. https://israelisalad.wordpress.com/

    1. Dimi Jani says:

      Hey there! thanks for dropping by my blog 🙂 will definitely check your blog out!

  7. I so needed this today. In the thick of coming to terms that this one for me is not coming back. I know, means he wasn’t the one, but what we had was magic and what I have been searching for my whole life…until it wasn’t. After multiple attempts to get back out there, to find my person, I am just so very deflated. It will happen, precisely when I stop looking. I decided today would be that day, so thank you for inspiring me to press onward, focus on myself, and trust that he will come exactly at the right moment…beautifully written

    1. Dimi Jani says:

      Yes! Stop looking and trust that he will come 🙂 just don’t forget to have fun loving yourself in the mean time. Glad this helped ❤️ Hugs

Leave a Reply

